

4 July 2018

## 19<sup>th</sup> Annual International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot – Hosted by TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland

29 June 2018 - 3 July 2018

ANNOUNCEMENT OF RESULTS

#### Quarterfinalists in ranked order after general rounds:

- 1. Singapore Management University
- 2. University of Malaya
- 3. National University of Singapore
- 4. University of Queensland
- 5. University of Sydney
- 6. University of Hong Kong
- 7. Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
- 8. West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences

#### Semifinalists:

University of Hong Kong

University of Malaya

University of Queensland

West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences

#### Grandfinallists:

University of Hong Kong

University of Queensland

Winning team:

#### **University of Queensland**

# **Award and Prize Winners**

Winner, Oral hearings sponsored by Minter Ellison - University of Queensland

## **University of Queensland**

Runner-Up Oral Hearings sponsored by DLA Piper -

## **University of Hong Kong**

Best overall Written Memoranda sponsored by Tiberius MC -

#### University of Sydney

Runner up Best overall Written Memo sponsored by Young's List -

#### **Universitas Airlangga**

3<sup>rd</sup> place: University of Queensland 4<sup>th</sup> place: University of Versailles 5<sup>th</sup> place: Universitas Indonesia

Best Claimant Memorandum sponsored by SCMA-

#### **University of Queensland**

Best Respondent Memorandum sponsored by SCMA-

#### **University of Sydney**

Best Newcomer Memoranda

#### University of Miami

Best Speaker in the General Rounds sponsored by Colin Biggers & Paisley -

#### Sangeetha Badya, University of Queensland

#### 2<sup>nd</sup> place: Laura Heit, University of Queensland

Best Speaker in the Finals sponsored by HFW, & Ron Salter trophy -

## Laura Heit, University of Queensland

Runner up best speaker in the Finals sponsored anonymously-

## Tie between Kah Wah Tan (NUS) and Tsz Him Ryan Cheung (HKU)

Highest Ranked Team in the General Rounds sponsored by Norton Rose Fulbright, and the David Martin Clark Perpetual Trophy donated by TT Club –

## Singapore Management University

The Sarah Derrington Achievement Award, sponsored by Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand:

## **University of Malaya**

AMTAC 'Spirit of the Moot' award, sponsored by AMTAC -

## University of Miami

Merit award, sponsored by Margo Harris

#### Koç University

Best Newcomer performance in the IMLAM Moot, sponsored by LMAA:

## Symbiosis Law School, Pune

Best Newcomer speaker

## Avarind Vishnubhotla, Symbiosis Law School, Pune

Venue for 2018: Erasmus University Rotterdam

General sponsors of the IMLAM Moot 2018:

The Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand

Singapore Chamber of Maritime Arbitration

# **2018** Participants

## 28 teams from 13 countries:

University of Miami Sri Lanka Law College University of Versailles Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences University of Exeter Murdoch University National Law University, Jodhpur Universitas Gadjah Mada Universitas Airlangga Koç University Symbiosis Law School, Pune National Law School of India University Université Le Havre University of Hong Kong National University of Singapore Universitas Indonesia Universidad Carlos III de Madrid University of Sydney University of Queensland University of Malaya Singapore Management University Universitas Padjadjaran **Macquarie University Erasmus University** Queen Mary University of London Victoria University The National University of Advanced Legal Studies

Twitter: #IMLAM2018, @IMLAMMurdoch